Blog

Getting To Know Mikey

The streets are empty, COVID-19 is running rampant on the world and Mikey is actually writing an article. The world’s gone mad hasn’t it?

In truth this was something ideally I should’ve done years ago. When I started, I decided to just roll with it. Starting with a post about Janet Devlin and following up with a few random things I’d done at the time, I never got around to explaining who I am and why I do this.

So with that in mind, it’s time to dive right in and provide education on yours truly.


Who Am I?

Straight to the point, let me tell you all who I am. My name is Michael Sallabank and at this time of writing I’m 24 years old.

I was born in Lincoln but grew up in Nottinghamshire and stayed there until I was 14, wherein I moved to Humberside and have stayed ever since.

Though pressured to be ‘manly’ by my father, the constant love and influence from my mother & two younger sisters allowed my to eventually embrace my feminine side a little more and not act so tough.

When the man who ‘raised’ me went away (for not nearly long enough), I came into my own. It was here I started to utilise social media and branch out creatively, making some of the best friends I’ve ever known.


Forming The Blog

In 2013 I became friends with a few fellow wrestling fans. Now I’d tried ‘blogs’ before, various websites as well (back when Google Sites and Blogspot ruled surpreme). As mentioned on The Prophet & The Fox, I became an admin for a wrestling fan page through my newfound friend Mike and it rekindled my love for writing.

A few failed ‘blogs’ later and we reach 2016, the birth of the then ‘A Wild Mikey Appeared’. The original goal was to write various pieces and conduct interviews. This was all in a bid to avoid University and build my own media portfolio, which would hopefully lead to being hired by a big media company.

Instead it transitioned into written therapy for me, an online diary if you will. It has worked wonders for my mind, so much so that I’m still doing it 4 years later (albeit with a new name, born out of fears of future lawsuits and unprofessionalism).


Mental Health

This has been one of my primary focuses on the blog. From writing about myself to interviewing others, I like to bring awareness to the struggles we all face everyday. If someone out there can read something I post and think “hey, maybe I’m not alone in this after all” then that’s pretty damn special.

After years of being bullied, living through family trauma and having two friends die from suicide and cancer respectively, within mere months of each other, you could certainly say I’ve been battle tested.

Though not a professional nor maybe the best person for the job, I want to normalise mental health discussion and hopefully inspire others to speak up too.


The Fun Stuff

Now that I’ve gone over some of the bigger topics, here’s some fun little topics I thought I could share with you all. These also include questions from my lovely Instagram followers.


Quick Fire Favourites

  • Colour: Blue
  • Food: Watermelon
  • Drink: Tea
  • Tea: Earl Grey
  • TV Show: Magnum PI (Remake)
  • Book: Digital Fortress (Dan Brown)
  • Film: Tombstone (1993)
  • Animal: Bears. All of them.
  • Thing To Cook: Steak or Lasagne.
  • Ice Hockey Team: Vancouver Canucks.
  • Super Hero: Marvel, Ant-Man. DC, Saint Walker.

Hobbies & Past-Times

  • Seeing friends.
  • Photography (mostly scenery but people too).
  • Travelling.
  • Yoga
  • Singing (badly).
  • Playing Bass (I’m not good at all but I enjoy it).
  • Playing on Nintendo Switch.
  • Watching wrestling & ice hockey.
  • Writing blogs like these.

Where I Work

Currently I work as a Digital Marketing Assistant for a Mortgage Broker named UK Moneyman Ltd. I’ve worked there for two and a half years, with it being my first paid job.


Body Facts

I’m 5ft 8, no idea how much I weigh, I have all my original teeth and size 9 feet. If you want to know how big anything else is, you’ll have to ask me separately.


Music Taste

Saving the best for last, here’s a little bit about my music taste. As with most things I’m into, my music taste is incredibly varied. It plays a big part in my life and I have an open mind to almost anything.

Though primarily a fan of rock and metal, I have been known to frequently listen to blues, jazz, pop, hip-hop, dance, disco, classical, opera and more. Basically anything from Frank Sinatra to Taylor Swift, I’ll give it all a shot.

My current top 5 played bands include:

  • HEY LIFE.
  • Madina Lake.
  • Mallory Knox.
  • Wu-Tang Clan.
  • Bullet For My Valentine.

I’m always open to suggestions, so feel free to message me any time with new music!


Well, I’ve rambled on for long enough, so I’ll leave this here. I appreciate you all taking the time to read this and get to know me! It’s been fun to reflect on all that makes me who I am. Keep an eye out on my Instagram for regular updates, as I’ll be posting more soon!


Post By Michael Sallabank